A wheel? Seriously.

truck

So there I was on a bitterly cold windy day plowing snow in the driveway.  It was minus 24 degrees according to the car’s onboard thermometer when I drove home about 15 minutes earlier, and that is not accounting for the wind which probably made it feel like 8 or 10 degrees colder.  This damned wind has blown so much snow over the driveway that it looks like we have had a seriously heavy snow fall even though we have had no new snow for days.  The truck fired up effortlessly.  For an old rusty pickup truck, it really is a terrific help.  A snowblade on the front and I am inside the cab driving, away from the elements when clearing the snow.  It used to take up to 2 hours with a snow blower until I decided to get the truck a few years ago.  2 hours of working a machine outside in the wind and snow and cold.  Now I am inside a warm truck having fun!  I did a run from the house all the way up to the road.  Backed up and did another run slightly to the left of the last one.  Then another, then another.  I was left with a small mound of snow at the end of the driveway.  I had to drive through it out onto the road in order to push the snow off to one side of the entrance.  As I drove out onto the road, there was a loud, heavy kuh-lunk sound!  What the hell was that?  I drove about 3 or 4 feet and I looked in the mirror.  There was a wheel on the ground in the middle of the entranceway.  A wheel!  What the hell?  Am I now on three wheels? Am I mysteriously balancing on three?  If I lean over will the truck tip up on one side?  What is going on?   I leaned from side to side.  No tipping happening here!  I opened the door looked at the front and back wheels on the driver’s side.  All intact.  I hopped out and walked back to the wheel on the ground.  It was the spare tire!!!!!   It is usually bolted onto the underside of the truck.  There it was lying on the ground.  Well it IS an old rusty truck.  I picked up the wheel and heaved it into the back of the truck.  Wow pickup truck wheels are pretty heavy.  Wasn’t expecting that. I jumped back into the warm truck and continued my snow clearing task.  I never expected to lose a wheel like that.  I smiled to myself as I thought back to how I actually entertained the possibility of being on three wheels.  How dumb!

1 thought on “A wheel? Seriously.

Leave a comment